G’day Mate!

Junior Space School with Sydney Australia's Knox Grammar School boys
Junior Space School – Sydney Australia’s Knox Grammar School

My very first HASSE School Group started with this rowdy bunch of kiddos from Sydney, Australia’s Knox Grammar School. They were so intelligent, witty, goofy, and full of surprises. No two days were the same and that’s what I loved about them. Although these 14 days were the hardest and longest hours I’ve worked, it was also rewarding. The first week was spent in Houston where they spent the majority of their time attending HASSE courses with a mix of fun, like the Astros vs. Yankees game (GO ASTROS!) and a Toyota Center visit. I couldn’t have started my week off any better than spending the first morning at my old stomping grounds at the Toyota Center. Nostalgia quickly kicked in seeing my Rockets family and where I spent the majority of my time the past 3 years. We also attended a Shark Dissection course at Texas A&M Galveston and a CSI Investigation course at the Health Museum. But of course, my kiddos were too smart for this. =P DSC_6421

DSC_6347

Miss Sarah Silva and the to-be Mrs. Mitchell
Miss Sarah Silva and the to-be Mrs. Mitchell
Our inspirational guest speaker, Chrislord Templonuevo
Our inspirational guest speaker, Chrislord Templonuevo
CSI Investigation
CSI Investigation

The kiddos also had the opportunity to meet 2 astronauts, Leroy Chiao and Kenneth Cameron, and the prestigious Silver Snoopy Award recipient David Cisco, who was one of the lead engineers for the Apollo program.

DSC_7662But let’s not forget the amazing food we had in Houston. And Mr. Tea made an appearance!

Rudy's BBQ!
Rudy’s BBQ!

Our 2nd week was spent in Huntsville, Alabama at the United States Space and Rocket Center (USSRC). They got to experience simulations, real life missions, and sleeping accommodations similar to that on the International Space Station (ISS). I’ve really become somewhat of a space nerd, if you haven’t noticed already. At the end of the trip, a few of the students asked me, “Ma’am, you’re not coming back to Australia with us?” This is when I really felt attached to these boys. The goodbye was rushed and they’re now in the comfort of their own homes, but I’ll never forget this group of 15 boys. They taught me how to love and sacrifice my time selflessly and that it’s not illegal to shoot a kangaroo in Aussie land, but it is illegal to eat Koala meat. The water fountain is referred to as the bubbler/”bubblah” and the restroom is called the “toilet.” When Australians speak to other Australians, they say, “I’m from ‘straya, mate!” Words like “heaps” are used in replace of ‘a lot’ and “cheers” is used very often. All in all, my first experience was an exhausting, yet rewarding one.

DSC_7815

But now, I’m onto my 2nd group of students in the East Coast: HASSE Ivy League. It’s been a non-stop 3 weeks with 4 weeks left. I’ll end with this…

Psalm 136:1 “Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good. His love endures forever.”

One thought on “G’day Mate!

  1. Awesome to see how rewarding this is for you, maybe you’ll find a new passion from all this. United Nations? NASA? All pretty cool! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment